bean bag toss game

Posted: November 25, 2014 in etcetera, FYI

Materials used:
* a square wood board that I found in our barn, approx. 3feet x 3feet x 1inch thick for stability (in case the wind was strong)
* thin plastic plates from the Dollar Tree (1 pack of 8 plates (9″, I think))
* tacks
* an old tablecloth, cut to cover the board (without too much extra material)

I took the general idea for this bean bag toss game from this blog:
http://helenjane.com/2014/08/19/make-a-lego-bean-bag-toss-game/

To simplify my life, I only put three targets (doubled, so two plates each), and I didn’t spray paint anything. I just covered the wood board with a sheet and tacked it generously on the bottom. Then I just tacked the plates on.

bean bag toss game

bean bag toss game

I bought a box of 4 “regulation” bean bags: if I’d seen the above blog post first, I would’ve used rolled-up socks.

While playing the game at our community festival, I told older players that the object was to put one bean bag on each plate. For the younger ones, the object was to put a bean bag on any plate. One mom of a three-year-old told me she was glad I had a game that little ones could do.

The front plate did start to crack after about an hour of play, but it will be easy enough to fix for next year.

Leave a Reply

